Like clocks, watches and hourglasses, I look at and dread abandoned places as time measuring devices. They measure first the duration of a civilization and its impermanence. These places shine with the absence of life and soul, their only traces are erosion and graffiti, symptoms of dispossession of places where we can no longer live, that is to say we are no longer in control. They measure the length of human life and its transience as well. They represent vanities that take us back to the reality of our human condition and allow us to confront our “passing”, symptoms of the fear of body dispossession in which we live, and the necessary detachment from desire.

Urban explorers, the great witnesses of time acceleration, are the privileged spectators of the decline or dereliction of their own civilization, and thus differ from tourists who visit ruins of a distant, reassuring past. Exploring these places is enough to realize that it takes a generation to generate its own ruins. Ours contains the seeds of its planned obsolescence… referring to this peculiar form of generalized Alzheimer where personal memory is replaced by a “Cloud”, a virtual space held by private companies.

Memento mori in actions, the “urbex” experience is, like in the 19th century, a medium for artistic meditation. The romanticists painters were wandering in the ruins of Italian abbeys. Photography has now replaced painting. It took over the art of capturing the moment, as a medium revealing and grasping the fleeting moment.

Au même titre que des horloges, des montres ou des sabliers, j’appréhende les lieux abandonnés comme des instruments de mesure de la durée. Mesure de la durée d’une civilisation et de son impermanence d’abord. Ces lieux qui brillent par l’absence de vie et des corps ont pour seuls marqueurs temporels érosion et graffitis, symptomes de la dépossession des lieux que l’on habite plus, c’est-à-dire que l’on ne maîtrise plus. Mesure de la durée de la vie humaine et de son éphémérité aussi. Vanités grandeur nature qui nous ramènent à la réalité de notre condition humaine et nous permettent de nous confronter à notre « finitude », symptomes de la peur de la dépossession du corps que l’on habite, du détachement nécessaire de tout désir.

Formidables témoins de l’accélération du temps, les explorateurs urbains sont ainsi les spectateurs du déclin ou de la déréliction de leur propre civilisation, et se différencient ainsi des touristes qui visitent les vestiges d’un passé lointain, donc rassurant. Explorer ces lieux, c’est se rendre compte qu’il suffit d’une génération pour fabriquer ses propres ruines, que la nôtre contient les germes de son obsolescence programmée qui la renvoie à cette forme si particulière d’Alzheimer généralisé où la mémoire personnelle est remplacée par un nuage, Cloud virtuel déténu par des entreprises privées.

Memento mori en actes, l’expérience “urbex” est, tout comme au 19ème siècle, un support de méditation artistique. Les paysagistes romantiques vagabondaient dans les abbayes italiennes en ruines. La peinture a fait aujourd’hui place à la photographie, l’art de capter l’instant, et medium qui relève autant qu’il révèle le saisissement de l’éphémère.